Since 1944, SCCA has championed one mission: To bring motorsports to the masses of American men and women who are passionate about automobiles, speed and competition. From National Championships to regional events, whether professional or amateur, we exist to organize, support and develop auto racing at every level and provide an outlet for you to get out of the armchair and into the action. So, whether your passion is autocrossing, rallying or road racing as a professional or as a weekend warrior, SCCA wants to help you fuel your passion. Northwest Region joined SCCA in 1953 as the 27th Region. We are a part of the Northern Pacific Division which is divided into 2 areas, ours being Area 13.

Our Purpose

The nature of the activities to be conducted and the purposes to be promoted and carried out are as follows: To promote interest in sports cars and other fine automobiles and to encourage their safe and skillful operation by developing, arranging and regulating closed circuit road racing, rallying, autocrossing and other forms of automotive competition, by dissemination of information through news releases and Regional publications, and through related social and recreational activities for the instruction and enjoyment of its members.

Geographic Location

The Northwest Region of SCCA covers the state of Washington (down to but not including cities on the Columbia River) and the Northern Panhandle of Idaho. It also includes the southern part of British Columbia, Canada. We are a full service region offering Motorsports opportunities in Race, Rally (including RallyCross), Solo, and Time Trials. Each of the venues have a separate committee working under the guidance of the Board of Directors. Links to their section of our website are listed on the bottom left.

Meetings and Gatherings

The Board of Directors meets the first Monday of every Month (excluding major holidays) These meetings are open meetings.


The Race Committee administers the Club Racing program, including developing the Club’s race schedule, selecting venues, publicizing the Region’s race program, and supervising the Region’s race activities with specialty chiefs. The meeting is held the 4th Monday of each month, generally taking the month of December off.


The Solo Committee administers the Solo program, including developing the solo schedule, selecting venues, publicizing the Region’s solo program, and running the National Tour event and Pro Solo event. The meetings are held the 2nd Tuesday of each month, unless a conflict occurs with the Championships in Topeka.

Time Trials

This program has evolved from the original Solo1 program. It is designed to give sports car enthusiasts higher speeds then the Solo program (autocross) allows and/or for those whom the racing program is not affordable or desirable. There are 4 levels of Time Trials in which NWR offers all except Hillclimbs. Meetings are held with the Race Committee meeting.

National Awards

SCCA recognizes regions yearly at the National convention with various awards. Some are based on the size of membership others are membership or region wide (size doesn’t matter). Northwest Region has received many awards from SCCA

► 2007 Third Place – Region Communication Award
► 2004 Website of the Year – Large Region
► 2004 National ProRally of the Year – Wild West
► Region Achievement Awards ( unprecedented 7 times in a row).
1996-2000 as a Large Region and 2001 as a Jumbo Region.
► 2001 ClubRally of the Year – Doo Wops Rally
► 1994-ClubRally of the Year – Twin Peaks Rally
► 1992 ClubRally of the Year – Doo Wops Series
► 1989 National ProRally of the Year – Michelin Pacific Forest
► 1987 – National ProRally of the Year – Wild West
► 1986 ClubRally of the Year – John’s River Lodge
► ClubRally Region of the Year 1986, 1987, 1990 & 1992
► Divisional ClubRally of the Year. went to NORPAC in 1990, 1992, and 1994.

History of the Region

Complete history can be found on our History page.  Membership started with 9 members in February 19, 1953 and had increased to 40 by December.   Total membership as of March 1997 was 1,212 an increase of over 3000% since December 1953. Other membership numbers are listed below.

October 2001 – 1550

October 2002 – 1596

October 2003 – 1449

October 2004 – 1506

October 2005 – 1137

October 2006 – 1032

October 2007 – 1026

October 2008 –  1039

October 2009 – 806

Past Regional Executives

► 1953: Tom Carstens
► 1954: Herb Williams
► 1955: David Fogg
► 1956: Geoffrey Atkinson
► 1957: J. Franklin Eddy
► 1958-1960: Burleigh F. Hillman
► 1961: Herbert DeBruyn
► 1962-1963: Robert V. Yeakel
► 1964-1965: Roger Swift
► 1966: Ray Rairdon
► 1967: Robert Egan
► 1968-1970: Joe Henderson
► 1971: Ken Legg
► 1972-1974: John Martinsen
► 1975: Ray Altman/Louis Morseth
► 1976: Louis Morseth
► 1977: Tony Wascher
► 1978: Richard Elmslie
► 1979-1980: Tony Wascher
► 1981-1984: Jay Bratton
► 1985: Wayne Reuter
► 1986: John Martinsen
► 1987: Ken Paton
► 1988-1989: Wayne Erickson
► 1990-1992: Bill McGillin
► 1993-1994: Andy Collins
► 1995-1996: Eric Mann
► 1997-2000: Joy Kreick
► 2001-2006: John Forespring
► 2007- 2008 – Frank Hamilton
► 2009 – 2012 – Tom Masterson
► 2013 – 2018 – John Taylor
► 2018 – present – Scotty B White


There is a large range of types of auto racing, including Grand Prix racing, midget-car racing, stock-car racing, sports-car racing, speedway racing, drag racing, and karting, as well as hill climbs and trials.

Dirt track racing is popular where cars race around an oval dirt track, and includes race types such as Sprint Car Racing, Autograss, Banger Racing, and Autospeedway. Similar events, but on a different surface, is Car Ice Racing.


-Mario Andretti